+ 27 (0) 11 450 1804
Second Floor, Helvetia House 80 Greenvale Rd, Wilbart Germiston, 1401
Mon - Thur: 8:00 am - 16:00 pm - Fri: 8:00 am - 14:00 pm


The INSTITUTE FOR WORK AT HEIGHT (IWH) has received official recognition by the South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) as the Professional Body (PB) for the work at height industry in South Africa. The IWH PB is a non-statutory body, recognising practitioners in the working at height industry. (Click here to see our Constitution.)
#striped-custom-5c6a845783f6b h3:after {background-color:#50aade!important;}#striped-custom-5c6a845783f6b h3:after {border-color:#50aade!important;}#striped-custom-5c6a845783f6b h3:before {border-color:#50aade!important;}

The Skills Development Act

  • The Skills Development Act
  • The Skills Development was established in South Africa as a result of the following legislation:
  • 1995: South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA) Act.
  • 1998: The Skills Development Act was established.
  • 1999: The Skills Development Levies Act was established.
  • 1999 April: The National Skills Authority was established.
  • 20 March 2000: The 25 Sector Education and Training Authorities were established.
  • Subsequently reduced to…
  • 1 April 2000: An Employer payroll levy was introduced to fund the new skills development legislation.
#striped-custom-5c6a845788ccb h3:after {background-color:#50aade!important;}#striped-custom-5c6a845788ccb h3:after {border-color:#50aade!important;}#striped-custom-5c6a845788ccb h3:before {border-color:#50aade!important;}

Purpose of the Act

The overall aim of the Act is to improve the skills of the people of South Africa and in turn secure a better trained workforce.

The Act : 

  • Introduced a new institutional framework (a set of guideline rules and structures) to determine and implement national sector and workplace skills development strategies.
  • Ensure that more training and development programmes are provided to employees and that they are awarded with qualifications recognised in the National Qualifications Framework (NQF).
  • Provides for learnerships that lead to recognised qualifications.
  • Establishes new ways to pay for skills development through a levy/grant system and the National Skills Fund.
  • Provides for employment services and their regulation to help new, unemployed and retrenched workers to find, and to help employers to find skilled workers.
  • Establishes a National Skills Authority (NSA) and Sector Education and Training Authorities(SETA’s).